Q&A About the Star-Runner World Blog

            Hi, everyone! I’m sorry it’s been so long since my last article, but between murdering my Writer’s Block, writing, research, and adjusting to a few big real life changes, I’ve been having a hard time squeezing in time for the blog! Well, now I’m back, and I’ve decided to mark the return of the Star-Runner World blog with a Q&A session. This would be an FAQ…but people don’t ask me any questions, so…Anyway, here are a few questions that you may have had about the blog that you may have been too shy to ask, and their answers!

Q: Are any of the short stories here on the Star-Runner World blog cannon to the actual books?

A: Why, yes. Yes they are. Every single one of the in-universe short stories here on the blog is 100% cannon to the series…Though, you should take Silver’s guest post with a grain of salt, seeing as how it was a remembrance from his early childhood and—knowing him—probably hammed up a bit here and toned down a bit there to serve his own purposes.

Q: I really like the Monster Manual segments. Will you be doing more in the future?

A: Yes, I plan to make many more Monster Manual segments. They’re a lot of fun, because I love creature design.

Q: Do you draw the pictures for the Monster Manual yourself, or is there someone else doing them for you?

A: I don’t have any partners on the art front so, just like the covers of my books, I do all of the Monster Manual art myself. Though, if I ever got a chance to collaborate with an artist whose work I like, I wouldn’t mind having a guest artist get involved.

Q: Falcon is my favorite character in the whole series! How come you haven’t interviewed him yet?!

A: I would love to, but the guy keeps ditching out on me. So many secrets with that guy…I’m sure he’s avoiding being interviewed to keep them intact.

Q: How could it have taken you so long to update this blog? I mean, how long does it take to slap together a few paragraphs about your own fictional universe and post it online once a week? A/My 12-year-old can do it!

A: A common misconception for people who aren’t actually creators themselves is that the creative process is not only uniform for everyone, but works in a reliably mechanical way. For me, writing a post for this blog (or anything really) starts with the inspiration. Then, I slowly form things up in my head and eventually a rough draft in Word. Usually, I write up my blog posts between Wednesday and Friday every week. Because I like to make sure that I’m only posting interesting, entertaining content, if I’m not properly inspired or feeling just plain burnt out, no blog entry will be written that week.

            After the rough draft, I then leave the entry alone until Sunday, when I proofread, edit, and post it. If there are additional materials required, like artwork, the cooling off period is when I prepare it. Simpler pieces can be done with just my trusty Wacom tablet and PhotoShop Elements in an hour or so. More complex drawings, however, I prefer to sketch out by hand with a pencil and a piece of paper, then digitally ink and paint them, so they take a little longer. All of that is what takes me so long.

Q: Where’s the third book already?!

A: Alright, that’s a question about the books, but I’ll let it slide. Wolfie Star-Runner’s Amazing Voyage South is coming along, and I’ll hopefully be done writing it by this fall. The editing is another matter, since my editing partners have…no sense of the word “deadline.” So, I may finish the book by September, but the editing won’t be finished until November because they like to mosey and procrastinate their way through. That’s also why I can’t name specific launch days for my books, just timeframes. A paid professional would work more quickly and efficiently, but that would cost me $250 that just I don’t have, so…Yeah, can’t be helped.

Q: How can you be publishing books if you don’t have $250 to cover an editor?!

A: Like I said, unpaid editing partners. If you would like me be able to afford the services of a professional editor, you can help by buying a copy of both of the currently published books as gifts for everyone you know. That would help immensely. (The previous statement is only half sarcasm.)

Q: When are you going to profile some more of the races of your world?

A: All in good time, my pretty. All in good time…

Q: What’s with all of the secrecy surrounding the Hellfire Lord Goramesh? Even his interview is vague…

A: Because the guy is a walking spoiler, that’s why. If you really want to know more about this Devil of Flames than I’m willing to leak, go read Wolfie Star-Runner Plays with Hellfire. Don’t worry, it’s alright with me if you start the series with the second book. I wrote the series in a way that allows readers to jump in on any book, but not be totally lost. Besides, you can always go back and read Rebirth and Awakening after if you liked the second book enough.

Q: Will there be a short story about *insert character, group of characters, or desired scenario here*? I’d really like to see that.

A: You’ll just have to wait and see. I have quite a few ideas for shorts to post on this blog. The one that I plan to post next week involves Wolfsbane’s old rookie squad mates, so stay tuned. 😉

Q: I thought that Inferno’s magic lesson was adorable! Are there any plans to make that into a recurring feature like the Monster Manual?

A: Possibly, if I can convince him to write for me again. I don’t think he’s forgiven me for the last time, though…

~

            Well, that does it for this week. Join us next week for that story about Wolfsbane’s rookie squad mates. In the meantime, you can download the first few chapters of The Rebirth and Awakening of Wolfie Star-Runner (.mobi for Kindle, .epub for basically every other device) or Wolfie Star-Runner Plays with Hellfire (.mobi, .epub) for free…and leave a tweet at #WolfieSRImpressions with your reaction. If you liked the sample enough, you can buy the books at Amazon.com, BarnesAndNoble.com, Smashwords.com, Kobo.com, and even the iTunes store!

            Also, feel free to archive binge around here for several much better entries! Thanks for reading, and have a wonderful week.

About starrunnerworld

I'm an independent author who specializes in Fantasy and Sci-Fi.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

